2018-05-10 / News

MCC Recognizes Top Achievers for 2018

FLINT — Mott Community College (MCC) honored its outstanding academic achievers at the 2017 Graduate Honors Reception Thursday, May 3, at 6 p.m. at The Whiting. The Honors Program Diploma is awarded to students who have completed a minimum of four honors sections including the Honors Colloquium, have completed all the criteria for an associate’s degree and are graduating with a 3.5 or better GPA.

Local students who received this diploma were: Jacob E Baum, of Goodrich, and Madelyn Lauren Bettendorf, Jazzmin Anita Jackson, Rachel Lauren Moffitt, Brendan Patrick Rogers, and

Caleb John Valkner, all from Grand Blanc.

Additionally, College divisions recognize students for academic performance. These awards are given at separate recognition ceremonies within the division or department and include:

The Technology Division Awards are given annually to students enrolled in one of the technology-related occupational degree programs at MCC who exhibit outstanding effort and professionalism in their field of study.

This year’s recipients are: the Outstanding Graduate in CAD and Design recipient is Victor Sedrick, of Grand Blanc, the Most Improved CAD and Design Graduate recipient is Cameron Lomax, of Grand Blanc, and the Product Design Challenge Team First Place recipients are David Dicks, of Grand Blanc, Jessica Beaudoin, of Flint, and Ron Khuat, of Flint.

Science and Mathematics Division Awards are based upon a combination of courses taken, credit hours earned, difficulty of courses, and grades earned. Students are nominated by faculty members.

The 2018 Caraway - Walworth award recipients are Nolan Underwood, of Clio, and Kirsten Symanzik, of Goodrich. The $200 scholarship is awarded to a freshman with excellent academics in at least two different division disciplines.

The 2018 Freshman Chemistry Award is given to Matthew Walker, of Grand Blanc.

The 2018 Biology Health Sciences Award is given to Amanda Maxwell, of Grand Blanc, Vsevolod Sobolev of Flushing, and Jack Proos of Fenton.

The 2018 Freshman Mathematics Award is given to Kynson Allen, Goodrich.

The 2018 Sophomore Mathematics Award is given to Ian Fox, of Clio, and Richard Hogan, of Grand Blanc. — P.S.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2018-05-10 digital edition